Homemade Cider Vinegar
Cookbook | Recipes | Ingredients | Equipment | Techniques | Cookbook Disambiguation Pages | Recipes | Index of Ingredients | Fermentation Cider vinegar, also called apple cider vinegar or ACV, is a type of vinegar made from apples. Cider vinegar has a unique flavour, coming from the apples used to make it. Some recipes require cider vinegar, although other vinegars may be substituted. Being made totally from apples, cider vinegar is gluten free unlike, say, malt vinegar. However, some commercial brands add wheat-derived substances such as caramel (as colouring), so it is important to read the labels when purchasing. Cider vinegar isn't hard to make; in fact, it's easier to make cider vinegar than it is to make cider! The basic procedure is to make cider from fresh apples, but use no preservatives and keep the lid open to let oxygen in. A recipe follows.
Cuisine: not stated · categories: Fermented recipes; Medium Difficulty recipes; Naturally gluten-free recipes; Recipes; Recipes using apple; Recipes using vinegar; Recipes with metric units
Full recipe on Wikibooks · licence Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0